« January 2005 | Main | March 2005 »
February 05, 2005
online-replica-store.com sucks!
It has been a few weeks since I reported about simply-rx.com. Lots of people posted comments saying they were ripped off. I decided to check if several of the redirected domains (those that point any subdomain to the sucky site) were still up, and they are--except that they now all point to online-replica-store.com.
A quick search on Google will tell you that this is just another scam by the same people. The domain was registered by another fine Spanish citizen:
domain: online-replica-store.com status: production owner: Sanchez Gonzalez email: gruco99@rodrun.com address: San Roque 889 city: Castiblanco state: -- postal-code: 41230 country: ES admin-c: gruco99@rodrun.com#0 tech-c: gruco99@rodrun.com#0 billing-c: gruco99@rodrun.com#0 nserver: ns1.dns889.com 203.98.159.136 nserver: ns2.dns889.com 203.98.159.136 registrar: JORE-1 created: 2004-12-17 10:56:45 UTC JORE-1 modified: 2005-01-23 17:10:37 UTC JORE-1 expires: 2005-12-17 05:56:45 UTC source: joker.com
Looks like a bogus name to me, as both "Sanchez" and "Gonzalez" are usually last names.
A few of the domains redirecting to the site are:
- *.iazy.com (as listed before)
- *.keej.com (as listed before)
- *.yomoi.com:
Domain Name: YOMOI.COM Domain Status: LOCK Registrar: Wooho T&C Co., Ltd. d/b/a RGNames.com Referral URL: http://www.RGNames.com Domain Registration Date....: 2004-11-04 GMT. Domain Expiration Date......: 2005-11-04 GMT. Domain Last Updated Date....: 2004-12-24 08:23:40 GMT. Registrant: bee aa 588, Seocho-dong, Seocho-gu Seoul, 137070 KRWe know Mr. Bee Aa already, right? :P
- *.roiex.com:
Domain Name: ROIEX.COM Domain Status: LOCK Registrar: Wooho T&C Co., Ltd. d/b/a RGNames.com Referral URL: http://www.RGNames.com Domain Registration Date....: 2004-10-26 GMT. Domain Expiration Date......: 2005-10-26 GMT. Domain Last Updated Date....: 2004-12-24 10:49:27 GMT. Registrant: smith a 588, Seocho-dong, Seocho-gu Seoul, 137070 KRNow _that's_ a real name: "Smith A". "How are you doing today, Mr. A?".
- *.jeou.com:
Domain Name: JEOU.COM Domain Status: LOCK Registrar: Wooho T&C Co., Ltd. d/b/a RGNames.com Referral URL: http://www.RGNames.com Domain Registration Date....: 2004-11-04 GMT. Domain Expiration Date......: 2005-11-04 GMT. Domain Last Updated Date....: 2004-12-24 08:23:40 GMT. Registrant: bee aa 588, Seocho-dong, Seocho-gu Seoul, 137070 KRLooks like Wooho is making a killing on registering domains for these people!
- *.vievv.com:
Domain Name: VIEVV.COM Domain Status: LOCK Registrar: Wooho T&C Co., Ltd. d/b/a RGNames.com Referral URL: http://www.RGNames.com Domain Registration Date....: 2004-10-04 GMT. Domain Expiration Date......: 2005-10-04 GMT. Domain Last Updated Date....: 2004-12-24 10:47:26 GMT. Registrant: aweb 588-5, Seocho-dong, Seocho-gu Seoul, 137070 KR - *.repllca.com:
Domain Name: REPLLCA.COM Domain Status: ACTIVE Registrar: Wooho T&C Co., Ltd. d/b/a RGNames.com Referral URL: http://www.RGNames.com Domain Registration Date....: 2005-01-21 GMT. Domain Expiration Date......: 2006-01-21 GMT. Domain Last Updated Date....: 2005-01-21 17:24:09 GMT. Registrant: Kimbo K Gangdong-gu, Seoul Gangdong P.O.Box, Gangdong-gu Seoul, 134600 GB
A few other domains at Wooho (raoy.com, mejc.com, etc.) are not responding right now. I wonder if Wooho is doing something about this or if they're just having technical difficulties.
The "modus operandi" for these scammers is the usual: design a professionally looking site (probably by just stealing the layout from an honest site), list products that are not readily available (cheap medicine, fake watches, sex toys) due to grey market concerns, charge about half the price of regular grey market items, and PROFIT! I wouldn't be surprised to hear that the credit card charges point back to India or China even if the site is in English. That makes it a lot more difficult for credit card companies to get their money back. Of course customers should get their chargeback even if the CC company never seems a dime back from these scammers.
What really made me mad about these guys this time is that they spammed _all_ of the GNU mailing lists (glibc, a2ps, smalltalk, chess, etc.). Do they _really_ think that Free Software / Open Source people fall for this kind of scam? I'd think that their 0.01% sales over advertisement must come from people who are using the Net for the first time or something like that. I mean, they don't even post contact information on the site. Or list a company name. It's just a pretty site with _no credentials_ whatsoever.
So there you go, same gang, new site, beware.
Updated: [6-Feb-05] Added repllca.com.
Posted by jdrowell at 10:25 PM | Comments (23)